Skip to content

Crew kids inspired dress

March 10, 2010

i saw this dress and this dress months ago, and thought “i could make something like that.”  Then i saw the Ruffles and Stuff contest, and the motivation to bring the dress to life was created.

There are so many ways to do this dress, but here is the way i did it-

Materials- two tee shirts, lightweight pink cotton, grey jersey

Cut one shirt at the waist and add that to the bottom of the other shirt.

Cut 3 ruffle strips approx- 3 inches by double the circumference of your shirt.

Zigzag or i sergered one side of ruffle (i used grey thread on the pink to give it some contrast). On the other side stitch long basting stitch to gather.

Starting at the seam where the two shirts were joined sew on the ruffle and then evenly distribute the second and third ones and sew them on too.

i really wanted to add something else to the dress.  After making all those Sienna dress there are a long of tee shirt remants around that became useful here.  i cut 3 inches wide, folded it in half, sewed wrong sides together, and then turned right side out.  Then place and sew waistband, leaving the extra off to the side.

i really should have taken pics, BUT i didn’t realize that until i was halfway finished with the project. If anyone wants more details send me an email.

My little daughter is not a fan of being my model.  Look at the two BEST photos i was able to get.  She does look really cute in it though. 

And that half shirt will find it’s use soon too, so don’t throw it away.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 9:44 pm

    I think yours turned out so much cuter than jcrew’s. Great job! It is adorable.

  2. March 10, 2010 11:47 pm

    Love it!

  3. Stephanie permalink
    March 11, 2010 5:55 am

    Can we get that one as a handme down??

  4. Kathy permalink
    March 18, 2010 6:51 pm

    I love this! I found you through ruffles and stuff. I do have a question though. I lost you when you said you cut one shirt at the waist and added to the other. Also, did you simply cut up the second tshirt to get the material for the ruffles? Sorry if these questions are lame, but a new to sewing. THANKS

    • March 19, 2010 10:20 pm

      Thanks for the questions. I am not great at describing sewing things, since I am a new sewer myself. If you look at my most recent post you can see how I cut the shirt. I used the bottom portion to attach to the bottom of the whole shirt and then put the ruffles ontop of that. I did use other material for the ruffles, it was a very light weight pink cotton.
      I hope that helps some, if you need more guidance let me know.

  5. April 1, 2010 6:55 pm

    That’s a great idea! I can’t wait to go through my daughter’s summer stuff and see what I can upcycle! Love it!

  6. April 1, 2010 6:56 pm

    I actually meant to reply on a differnt post but this is great too! Love your stuff!

  7. Sharon permalink
    July 22, 2010 1:47 pm

    Make more of these…she looks so darn cute in them!!

Leave a Reply

